Listen Live

HomeNewsLloydminster's MPs named to positions in Conservative shadow cabinet

Lloydminster’s MPs named to positions in Conservative shadow cabinet

Both of Lloydminster’s federal MPs will play a role in the Conservative Party’s shadow cabinet.

Interim party leader Rona Ambrose has named the critics for Parliament’s upcoming session, naming longtime Battlefords-Lloydminster MP Gerry Ritz the International Trade Critic.

“I am honoured to have been chosen as International Trade Critic,” said Ritz. “I believe that with my years of negotiating trade deals for the Canadian Agriculture sector, I have the necessary qualifications to hold the Liberals to account.”

Ritz says that he has had a hand in many of the 38 trade agreements signed by the Conservative government, including, most recently the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

- Advertisement -

“I will be holding the Liberals feet to the fire,” said Ritz.  “I will make sure they don’t renege on Canada’s commitment to the global supply chain.  Canada cannot be an island, the market place is global, and to remain relevant Canada must continue to adapt.”

Newly elected Lakeland MP Shannon Stubbs, meanwhile, has been been chosen to be the Deputy Critic of Natural Resources. She says she wants to focus on energy development.

“I will stand up for our world leading, responsibly developed energy sector in Alberta and across Canada,” Stubbs said. “Energy is a cornerstone of our economy, with a strong track record of innovation, increasing efficiency, minimizing the environmental footprint of development, investing in alternative technologies for the future, and developing products, processes and expertise that are exportable for resource development around the world. All Canadians should be proud of our energy sector.”

Stubbs will be working under Candice Bergen, MP for Portage-Lisgar.

Parliament will reconvene on Thursday, December 3.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading