Listen Live

HomeNewsSeveral local towns getting provinical road safety funding

Several local towns getting provinical road safety funding

Several towns in the area have been approved for some municipal road funding.

The Saskatchewan Government has announced that 52 total towns will be getting money to improve road safety. Funding will range from just over $2,300 to over $57,000 and can include digital speed display signs or other speed management projects, pedestrian crossing signals, school zone beacons and additional street lights.

Among the towns receiving a portion of $550,000 in Provincial Traffic Safety grants are Lashburn, Macklin, both the village and RM of Mervin, Turtleford and Unity, for various projects.

  • Unity: Unity gets $7,252 for its speed reduction and pedestrian safety projects.
  • Village/RM of Mervin: The village will get $9,639 for their speed awareness and management projects, while the RM will get $6,676 for solar-powered speed signs.
  • Turtleford: Turtleford will receive $7, 476 towards their 20/20 speed radars.
  • Macklin: Macklin will get $4,213 to work on a speed corridor on Highway 31.
  • Meadow Lake: The town will receive $19,524 for intersection safety projects.

Some of the money for these projects comes from photo speed enforcement fines. In total, $1.5 million has been given to 127 projects since the program began.

Towns will be able to apply for the grants again from July 1st to September 24th,  and the Government says applications must focus on priority areas, including impaired or distracted driving , occupant protection and intersection safety.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading