Listen Live

HomeNewsUnofficial results: Lloydminster's new city council chosen

Unofficial results: Lloydminster’s new city council chosen

The new Lloydminster City Council has been unofficially chosen, and in turn who will steer the ship for the next four years.

In a race that started with several strong leads through advanced and special polls, incumbent councillors Aaron Buckingham, Michael Diachuk, Glenn Fagnan and Jonathan Torresan will return for second terms as City Councillors. Jason Whiting has also gotten a second non-consecutive term, and newcomer Lorelee Marin has rounded out the sixth seat.

Of the unofficial winners, Torresan led the votes with 1,804, followed by Aaron Buckingham with 1,755, Michael Diachuk with 1,594, Glenn Fagnan with 1,556,  Lorelee Marin with 1,443 and finally, Jason Whiting with 1,395.

Looking at the Lloydminster Public School Board Trustees, Cathy Cornet, Chrissy Gee, Karoline Kennedy and David Thompson all won second terms, while Melanie Mutter, Viren Tailor and Georgina Veltikold were elected to their first terms.

- Advertisement -

Votes broke down to 1,114 for Melanie Mutter, 1,028 for Karoline Kennedy, 942 for David Thompson, 905 for Cathy Cornet, 838 for Georgina Veltikold and Viren Tailor finishing out the board with 770 votes.

A list of official, finalized results is anticipated on November 10th.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading