Listen Live

HomeNewsLloyd Comp student on Sask provincial youth body

Lloyd Comp student on Sask provincial youth body

A grade 12 student at Lloydminster Comprehensive High School is one of the talents on the 12-youth team comprising this year’s Saskatchewan Youth Council.

Emry Marchand says they have already had their first meeting at the University of Saskatchewan with education officials and are ready to get down to work in the new year on various objectives. She says they talked about their roles and responsibilities on the council along with the development of the Financial Literacy 10 credit which gives students an insight into the world of money.

“There is an issue with the financial literacy of our students. School should teach us important things like how to pay our taxes.”

She added that they also looked at a few other courses to see which ones should be mandatory for students so they could be successful in the future.

- Advertisement -

She says the youth are also calling for increasing access to trades at school, and more online schooling especially where students do not live nearby so that they can get the same help they would have access to in the school centre, but at home.

“Something we really hope to achieve by the end of the year is really improving the accessibility for students in many different areas – making sure that students know their resources and setting our students up for success in any route that suits them, whether it’s academically, trades or any other direction that they are passionate about,” says Marchand.

The grade 12 student is an “active member of her school’s Leadership class, Indigenous Mentorship, Anti-bullying presentations, Drama Department and Rugby team”, notes the government website.

The full list on the council is:

  • Abigail Calvin, Lutheran Collegiate Bible Institute
  • Bret Fahselt, Chinook School Division
  • Catherine Okolita, Saskatchewan Distance Learning Centre
  • Deondre Herman, Northern Lights School Division
  • Emry Marchand, Lloydminster Public School Division
  • Freddie Comfort, Prairie Valley School Division
  • Jan Nasibog, Sun West School Division
  • Jazmine Pope, Chinook School Division
  • Mariam Touré, Conseil des Ecoles fransaskoises
  • Momore Afolabi, Prairie South School Division
  • Sabine Wagner, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools
  • Sahaab Javaid, Regina Public School Division.
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading