Listen Live

HomeNewsOfficial results confirm landslide win for Rowswell

Official results confirm landslide win for Rowswell

The official results for the 2019 Alberta election have finally come in a week and a half past election night. The numbers for Vermilion-Lloydminster-Wainwright show a 76.2 per cent voter turnout, the second largest in the province behind Grande Prairie-Wapiti at 80.2 per cent.

As the polls began to report, Garth Rowswell of the UCP was polling with one of the highest vote counts in the province. Rowswell swept a safe victory in the riding with 19,768 votes, the third largest vote count in Alberta. The very largest vote count was 20,579, won by Jason Nixon, the UCP candidate for Rimby-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre. A close second shows 20,516 votes for Nathan Cooper, the UCP candidate for Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills.

In total, 25,074 ballots were cast throughout Vermilion-Lloydminster-Wainwright. Ryan Clarke of the Alberta NDP came a far second at 2,490 votes. Craig Peterson of the Alberta Party received 1,615, Jim McKinnon of the FCP won 898 votes, Kelly Zeleny of the AAP won 170 votes and independent candidate Robert McFadzean won 130. Forty-five ballots were spoiled, 6 were declined and twenty-eight were rejected.


- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading