Listen Live

HomeNewsLloydminster area players make Junior, Senior football teams

Lloydminster area players make Junior, Senior football teams

Lloydminster area football players have made it to provincial championships. The 30th annual Senior Bowl and inaugural Junior Bowl is bringing young local talent to Hellard Field at Shouldice Athletic Park in Calgary on Monday, May 20.

The Senior Bowl is a showcase for the top Graduating Grade 12’s in the province and has been a May Long Weekend staple for three decades. Team North features eight young players from the Lloydminster area; Dante Tabacu, Nathan Zacharias, Evan Eide, Dayton Gibb, Dominick Caco, Nash Etson, Cullen Wagner and Grayson Christie. Two coaches for the Senior Bowl North Team are also local products; Lloydminster Comprehensive High School alumnus Brett Hotchkiss and Holy Rosary High School alumnus Paul Hayward.

The Junior Bowl is a new concept that replaces the Bantam Bowl. It will still mainly be Grade 9 students but is now strictly aged based for U16 players including younger Grade 10’s as well. Jake Orieux and Chaztyn Walker will be representing the Border City on Junior Bowl Team North. LCHS alumnus Aaron Harper is the head coach of the U16 team, with HRHS alumnus Vince Orieux also serving as coach. The results of the Junior Bowl will determine a final Team Alberta U16 that will compete in the Football Canada U16 Western Challenge in Kamloops this July.

All of the North and South teams will be practising in Calgary this weekend ahead of the bowl game on Monday. The 2018 Football Alberta Coaching Awards will also be handed out at the Senior Bowl Awards Banquet on Sunday, May 19 at the Red and White Club in Calgary. Jake Hotchkiss will receive the Novice Coach of the Year Award while Aaron Harper will be awarded Norm Kimball Coach of the Year & Laurie Robertson H.S. Tier II Coach of the Year.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading