Listen Live

HomeNewsFour new members join Lakeland College Board of Governors

Four new members join Lakeland College Board of Governors

Lakeland College is welcoming four new members of the public to their Board of Governors.

Brent Fischer, Jessica Kelly, Lloyd Snelgrove and Adam Waterman were appointed to the board by the Alberta government in May and will each serve three years.

The Board of Governors reviews the organizational and financial performance of the college and represents Lakeland College in all levels of government.

Fischer is the co-owner of Pleasantview Farms Ltd. and has been involved in many community organizations, including chairing the Irma and District School Enhancement Society and was involved in the Irma Summerspiel, Alberta Charolais Association, Hardisty Feeder Association and the MD of Wainwright Ag Service Board.

- Advertisement -

He is a graduate of Olds College’s agriculture mechanics program and received the Senators’ Contribution Award for Volunteerism and Civic Engagement in 2017.

“I am excited to be a part of the Lakeland College board. Their goal to graduate students who are ready to become part of the workforce is an awesome opportunity for the students. The energy and passion from the leadership group and staff is very evident. Lakeland College has become one of the leading learning centres in Alberta.”

Kelly is an alumna of Lakeland’s university transfer program and obtained a bachelor of arts degree in political science from the University of Lethbridge in 2012. She obtained her Juris Doctor degree from the University of Saskatchewan College of Law in 2017 and has been working with PSM Lawyers.

“As a former Lakeland College student, I am very excited to be a member of the board. I believe access to local postsecondary education is vital to our community and its success, and I look forward to making a lasting contribution.”

Snelgrove is a former MLA in the Vermilion-Lloydminster riding and served three terms where he was the Minister of Service Alberta, Treasury Board President and Minister of Finance and Enterprise. He currently operates a campground resort on Muriel Lake with his wife.

“Both my parents, my wife and three of my kids attended Lakeland College. It has been a big part of our lives and I hope to be able to bring to the board some perspective from the past that may help build a solid future.”

Waterman works in operations management for a mid-sized oil and gas producer. He has worked in the industry for 15 years and is the president of the Lloydminster Oilfield Technical Society. Waterman has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering and is enrolled in a master of science program at Georgetown University as well as the CFA Institute’s chartered financial analyst program.

“It is a great honour to join the Board of Governors of an institution as esteemed as Lakeland. I look forward to contributing to Lakeland’s continued growth and maintaining its valuable agricultural legacy.”

- Advertisement -

The four join Doreen McCaw and Dianne Harder as public members of the board. The board is also made up of President and CEO Dr. Alice Wainwright Stewart, Chair Scott Webb, Vice-chair Jo-Ann Hall, academic staff member Wanjiku Kaai, non-academic staff member Merle Klumph and student representatives Kara Karst and Jeanette McGlynn. Kaai, Karst and McGlynn are also new to the board.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading